In the News

Six Friends Groups Holding Book Sales During the Fall

Many of Madison Public Library’s Friends groups are holding book sales this fall to benefit the libraries. Items typically available include fiction and nonfiction titles, DVDs, CDs, puzzles and more. All funds raised at the sales support projects at the respective library or go into that library’s endowment fund.

Monroe Street Library League: Saturday, September 16, 9:30 a.m.–4 p.m. at Monroe Street Library. All items will be marked down to half-price at 1 p.m., followed by a bag sale at 3 p.m. This sale coincides with the Monroe Street Festival.

Friends of the Sequoya Library: Saturdays, September 2, September 16, October 7 and November 4, 9 a.m.–4 p.m. at 442 Westgate Mall next to TJMaxx. Bag sale begins at 2 p.m.

Friends of the Lakeview Library: Friday, September 15, 6–7:45 p.m. (pre-sale for members only, but you may join at the door); and Saturday, September 16, 9 a.m.–4 p.m., at Lakeview Library.

Friends of the Pinney Library: Thursday, October 19, noon–8:30 p.m. (pre-sale for members only, but memberships will be sold at the door); Friday, October 20, 9 a.m.–8:30 p.m.; Saturday, October 21, 9 a.m.–4:30 p.m.; and Sunday, October 22, 1–4 p.m. (bag sale), at Pinney Library.

Friends of the Alicia Ashman Library: Thursday, November 2, 5–8 p.m. (pre-sale for members only, but memberships will be sold at the door); Friday, November 3, 9:30 a.m.–7 p.m.; and Saturday, November 4, 9:30 a.m.–3 p.m. (bag sale 1–3 p.m.), at Alicia Ashman Library.

Friends of the Madison Public Library: Thursday, November 2, 9 a.m.–9 p.m.; Friday, November 3, 9 a.m.–9 p.m.; Saturday, November 4, 9 a.m.–9 p.m.; and Sunday, November 5, 11 a.m.–2 p.m. Sale is at the Central Library in conjunction with the Wisconsin Book Festival.

All of the Friends groups are seeking volunteers to help at the book sales. Please visit or contact your favorite library to learn more.

Library Website